Original or not?

Every artist was first an amateur.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

This week, Laura Harms from I am the Diva, has invited Maria Vennekens, CZT, to create the challenge.  To quote Laura, “This post – it’s a doozy, I’m not going to lie.  I’ll be very interested to see your contributions and your thoughts on the process.”

In Maria’s instructions, she says: “The challenge for this week is: can you do a Zentangle® without using existing patterns or tangleations of them? And, what are your experiences while doing so?”  She goes on to say:  “My first thought was: of course I can. But when I sat down and tried, I found this is quite a challenge.”  She also explains some interesting points about Zentangle®  (which you might like to read at http://www.iamthedivaczt.blogspot.com/); and, she has posted her Zentangle.

My usual routine is to search out tangles or patterns on the internet from various blogs.  At times, tangles I’ve used in the past will pop into my mind and seem perfect, so I use them.  I must admit, it was a challenge to come up with a pattern, a tangle, a design – just anything – that hasn’t already been done.  I racked my brain to create a ZIA (Zentangle Inspired Art) that was original.  I really don’t know if I succeeded.

For me, life is not about feeling frustrated.  So, I began to draw what came to mind.  I tangle to relax and the last thing I want to do is feel like I’m failing or not following directions.  I don’t want this to be hard!  Hey, isn’t this suppose to be fun?  So my “creation,” be it original or not, is offered for your pleasure, as it gave me pleasure when I drew it.

Diva Challenge #123- "Guest Post- Is it a Zentangle?"This ZIA is drawn on 8.5″ x 8.5″ white card stock with a Micron .01 Pen.  I colored it with fine-line pens and Prismacolor pencils.  I used graphite pencil to shade.  I normally list the names of the tangles, but since I made them up, they have no names.  I started with the border and then drew the string.  I will say that the pink chain-links in the lower right corner are a pattern I haven’t seen on the internet (although there are other chain-like and Celtic patterns to draw).  This particular design was taught to me by my late husband when we were teenagers, and I have been drawing it for years (too many to state.)  At some point, I may do a step-out (step by step instructions) for it and name it, but for today, it came to mind so I used it.  The pink design (center left) is a series of embellished letter “p‘s.” (you may have to flip it around to discern the letter p.) The other designs (or tangles) are just ideas that came to mind, so I drew them.  I did practice a couple of them on scrap paper before committing to the card stock, mostly to discern the space I would need.

Truthfully, I enjoy using other people’s designs.  To me, it’s so much easier.  I have created a couple of designs, one of which was published on TanglePatterns.com.  I called it Loopy.  You can find my patterns on Flicker in “Sets” called “Zentangle Patterns”.  (http://www.flickr.com/photos/80288200@N03/sets/)  I have been addicted to Zentangle for almost a year now.  My art over the last year has been posted on Flickr.  There are way too many pictures to transfer to my blog.  If you are interested, feel free to check out my art at:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/80288200@N03/

Thanks for visiting me.  Would love to read your comments if you care to leave me one.  Have a great day.





13 thoughts on “Original or not?

  1. Great response to the challenge nice work with the colors. I agree I’d rather play with other folks patterns – so fun to tweak them.

    • I agree, there are so many wonderful patterns available! It was a great challenge though, I came up with a couple of new tangles that I’ll soon be posting.

  2. Yes I think you did a great job on this one. The colors are bright and shiny, the patterns are looking really zen to me. I like it verrrry much.

  3. Indeed, we should stick to drawing what we like, what gives us pleasure. Your zia is lovely and cheerful.

  4. I think you did a great job – love the spirited colors you’ve used! I’m specially fond of the pink links, the green in the upper corner, and your ribbon border…. although when I went back to look again, the green scallops are pretty cool…. Nicely done.

    • Thanks, Sue. So glad you liked my ZIA. I appreciate your comments. Very soon, I plan to do a step-out for the chain-link, so keep your eyes open. Might also do the other tangles I came up with if time permits.

Comments are closed.