Butterflies Are Free

Linda, from TanglePatterns.com, issued a new String, #58.  I was eager to grab my pencil and draw the String on 8.5″ x 8.5″ white card stock.  If you look closely at the picture below you will see the fine pencil line of this String.

Zentangle #266-String 58 I was inspired to use the tangle Lightbulbs by Suzanne McNeill because it was a featured video by The Rainbow Elephant’s, Paint Lady.  She shared the step outs and tips on how to draw this interesting tangle.  You can check it out for yourself at:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVpM6MYdkK8

I then proceed to surf the web looking for other interesting patterns.  I stumbled across Carolyn Boettner’s Facebook page “https://www.facebook.com/pages/Doodle-Daze-Designs-Zentangles/146843615370106” and found some beautiful artwork.  The designs to the right of Lightbulb are inspired by Carolyn’s artwork.

Zentangle #266-String 58 1 I also added Purk, by Maria Thomas, from Zentangle.com and a free-hand butterfly.  My title was inspired by the butterfly.  Actually, Butterflies Are Free is a 1972 movie with Goldie Hawn.  Most of you may be too young to remember it.  You can see it on Amazon.  It’s a cute movie about a boy trying to break away from his overprotective mother.

Zentangle #266-String 58-shadedThe tangle on the bottom left is called Maelstrom, by Linda Dawson, and was a recent addition to the TanglePatterns.com site.  The other tangles I drew are not official patterns, they just seemed to flow from my pen. I shaded this ZIA using graphite pencil.

I felt the piece was not finished until I put some color to it.  I just seem to like my artwork in color, even though “official” Zentangles are suppose to be black and white.  I used my Prismacolor Pencils and fine-line pens to add the color I thought it needed.

Zentangle #266-String 58-colored & shadedI hope you like this one.  It was a challenge to draw and kept me busy for hours.  Do take time to leave me a comment.  Thanks for stopping by.

8 thoughts on “Butterflies Are Free

  1. This is awesome! I love how you go through each step. Great learning tool, as well as beautiful!

    • Thanks, Cathy. I never know if it’s boring or if the readers want this kind of information. So glad to hear you appreciated my step by step.

  2. Hi Ronnie, what a difference colour makes – I do like the black and white version but the colour is just so perfect, as only you know how – fantastic! 🙂

  3. Great tangle, Ronnie. As l read through your blog entries yesterday there were so many “learnable” moments for me. I’m very new to Zentangle and tangling. I do go to the ZIA list daily but have not participated yet. I’m working up the nerve to show one or two of the tangles l’ve done.

    • Hi Fran, I remember how I felt a year ago when I discovered this art form. I felt scared to post my work too, concerned it wasn’t as good as everyone else. But, I recommend you take the plunge and just post it. What is it they say, “Do the thing that most scares you.” People who are tanglers are very generous with their comments. There is every level of artist on the web, so why not join in. Hope you’ll take my advice and jump in — the water’s warm.

Comments are closed.