Rain, Rain, Go Away

Bad things do happen in the world, like war, natural disasters, disease.

But out of those situations always arise stories

of ordinary people doing extraordinary things.

Daryn Kagan,  an American Broadcast Journalist

I feel like I’m late posting my ZIA (Zentangle Inspired Art) for the Diva Challenge.  This week seems to be flying by so fast.  There are already 45 +/- posts so far.  If you want to see some eye candy, take a detour to I Am The Diva (http://www.iamthedivaczt.blogspot.com/) and check out some beautiful artwork.

Each week, Laura finds time to share her life and also come up with a Challenge that gets her followers thinking.  This week she has posted some devastating pictures of the flooding in her homeland (Calgary).  Her challenge is to keep all those experiencing Mother Nature’s rath in mind as we tangle a tribute to them. As I read some of the posts from other entries, I realized that Mother Nature has spared no part of the world.

I found it hard to start this drawing.  All I could think about was water.  It can be so beautiful and serene, crystal clear and shimmering, or devastatingly ferocious, brown and muddy, destroying anything in its path.   My heart truly goes out to all those experiencing loss and turmoil in their lives.  Although I feel I could never truly capture all I feel seeing their distress, I offer my humble tribute.

Diva Challenge #124-"We Are Calgary"

I chose blues and green for the beauty of water, not it’s ugly destructive qualities. I used the tangles Tadpole, by Suzanne McNeill (on left in teal), Orbs La Dee by Anneke van Dam (center) and Isochor an official Zentangle® pattern.  The background is spotted with blue raindrops.  I used Prismacolor pencils and fine-line pens to color the tangles.

Rain down your comments — they are so appreciated.

12 thoughts on “Rain, Rain, Go Away

  1. Wonderful idea! I think it was the perfect choice to portray the beauty of water and not it’s destructive aspect. you really did great job with the colouring and the patterns are wonderful executed. Well done.

Comments are closed.