Swap Meet Swap

“For pleasure has no relish unless we share it.”
Virginia Woolf, The Common Reader

I love finding internet sites that provide a challenge.  My group,  Zentangle Inspired Art, offers opportunities to participate in Swaps.  It’s been fun to draw ATCs (Artisit Trading Cards) and send them to the moderator of the Swap to be exchanged for the art of  another group member.  New Swaps pop up about every month.  I don’t do all of them, just those that appeal to me.

For July, “Freestyle Celtic Knot” captured my interest . The instructions for drawing the knot, much like a Celtic Knot, but without the frustration, are found  at Judy West’s blog, Creative Doodling.  (http://creativedoodlingwithjudy.blogspot.com/2012/08/freestyle-celtic-knot-challenge-i.html?spref=fb)

Swap - Celtic Knot - July 2013

Both Celtic Knot ATCs are drawn on 3.5″x3.5″ watercolor paper.  This one is colored with fine-line pens and Prismacolor pencils. When finished, I gave it a coat of Mod Podge and glued it to a heavyweight backing. The tangles are:  Ixorus, (center top),  Pokeleaf (sprouting from the center), Knightsbridge (center left), Paradox (lower left triangle) –  all these tangles are original Zentangle® patterns designed by Maria Thomas;  Scallops (center left) is a pattern that first appeared in CZT® Suzanne McNeill’s Book, Zentangle  3; Leaflet (lower right) is a lovely tangle from Aussie Helen Williams, who shares her botanical illustrations and Zentangle Inspired Art on her blog, A Little Lime.

As this is a “two for two” (meaning, two ATCs are drawn to be exchanged), here’s my second effort:

 

Swap - Celtic Knot II - July 2013

I used the tangles:  Hi C’s (center top) created by CZT® Anita Roby-Lavery; Tipple (next to Hi C’s), Bales (var.) (center), Florz (below Bales), Meer (var.) (below Bales); and Purk (below Meer), all original Zentangle® patterns; the five daisy-like tangles and the two circular tangles are inspired by Sandy Bartholomew from her book, Totally Tangled.   I used Micron .01 pen and Primsmacolor pencils.  This ATC was also given a coat of Mod Podge and glued to a heavyweight backing.  I hope whoever receives these ATCs enjoys them as much as I enjoyed drawing them.

 

Thanks so much for stopping by.  I welcome your comments and would love if you followed my blog.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Swap Meet Swap

  1. I like both of these but the second one is my favorite. I like that you didn’t use color in the tangles, it made it very showy!!

    • Thank you Rae. You are right. The second ZIA shows well with no color on the tangles. Thanks for taking time to comment. Please, stop by again.

Comments are closed.