Use My Tangle

Use what talents you possess; the woods would be very silent

if no birds sang there except those that sang best.

Henry Van Dyke, An American author, educator, and clergyman (1852-1933)

Diva Weekly Challenge #125: Use My Tangle Birdie Feet

The first Monday of the month, the Diva chooses a tangle and challenges everyone to use it in a Zentangle or ZIA.  This month it’s Birdie Feet, created by Owl Loving April.   The step-outs can be found on Flickr. ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/owllovingapril/6380350569/in/photostream/)

I used String 59 as a base for this week’s Challenge.  The chosen pattern ended up not being the most prominent focus of my ZIA, but I’m pleased with the overall results.  Here it is before color and shading.

Diva Challenge #125-Birdie Feet -String 59

I drew this ZIA on off-white card stock, with a Micron .01 pen.

Diva Challenge #125-Birdie Feet-coloredThis ZIA is colored with fine-line pens, Primacolor pencils, gel pens and a white pen for high lights.  The tangles chosen are: Birdie Feet (criss-crossing the center of the page), by Owl Loving April; Tortuca (top left), an official Zentangle® by Maria Thomas; Retro (top right), by Elena Hadzijaneva; Zedbra (center), by Margaret Bremner, CZT; Sand Swirl (bottom left); Trimonds (center bottom) by Jane Monk, CZT; Sundo (bottom right) by Jane MacKugler, CZT; Rouche (var.) (middle right) by Rose Brown; and XYZ (var.) (across lower part of the page), an official Zentangle by Maria Thomas.

Thanks for stopping by.  Would love for you to leave a comment and become a follower.  Have a great Fourth of July!

16 thoughts on “Use My Tangle

  1. A gorgeous ZIA Ronnie. And how funny you did the birdie feet, The one with the aura around each step. The colors are great, and is a very summer feeling Zia.

  2. Think the tangle stands out more in the colored version. Like your use of XYP. I like that tangle when I see it but do not think to use it much. You did a great job with it.

    • So glad you liked the color version. I tend to color most of my ZIAs. I think it adds so much to them. Thanks for your comment and stopping by. : )

  3. I love the colored on!! The tracks are really cute used as a string.

    • Thank you Rae. I appreciate your comment. Didn’t realize it said “on” instead of “one.” Funny how the eye reads it correctly despite the typo. Have a great 4th of July.

Comments are closed.