What A Rush!

I feel like I’ve been in a rush this week.  I was called for Jury Duty, so this week I spent most of my time in a courtroom.  This is the fourth time I’ve been summoned for jury duty since I moved to San Diego.  I served on one jury about five years ago in which a verdict was reached.  That trial took about a two weeks.  This time, the trial would have lasted eight to ten weeks.  It is a high profile trial in my area and the process to pick a jury was grueling.  I requested to be dismissed from serving on this jury.  The thought of condemning anyone to a life in prison or perhaps the death penalty was more than I could handle.  Call me a sissy, or a coward, but I just couldn’t see myself making that kind of judgement on my fellow man.  For one thing the prison system is atrocious and I don’t believe in the death penalty.  So this was definitely the wrong trial for me to participate in.  I’m so relieved the judge let me off the hook and dismissed me from this trial.  So now I’m happy to be back to my regular routines.

This week’s Diva Challenge called for using two different tangles in the same Zentangle Inspired Art Drawing.  The tangles are Cirquital and Opus.  Here is what I managed to draw today.

ImageThis is drawn on 8.5″ x 8.5″ white card stock with Micron .01 pen and colored with fine-line pens.

I’m relieved that I got this one finished, but I neglected to write down the various tangles I used inside the Cirquital tangle.  I did them mostly from memory.

I hope you like what I’ve come up with.  I’d love to know what you think of it.  Feel free to leave a comment.  Have a great weekend.  Thanks for stopping by.

13 thoughts on “What A Rush!

  1. Your cirquital is awesome! I love it. I have never been called to jury duty, but would feel very same way.

    • So glad you liked my ZIA. I’m glad to hear there are others with similar feelings. I felt a bit guilt about wanting to be dismissed from sitting on the jury panel, but I just knew that I would have had a really difficult time emotionally dealing with this entire issue. Thanks for taking time to comment.

  2. The best so far, I love it!! I’m working on mine, but I’m not crazy over Cirquital, we’ll see!

    • I, too, had to practice drawing Cirquital a few times to figure out the best way to get it down on paper so it wouldn’t look all wonky. Placing small dots around the circle to guide where I put the curved lines inside the Cirquital tangle helped, as well as, drawing it in pencil so I could correct any wonkyness. Maybe you should try this if you haven’t already finished your ZIA. Thanks so much for your comment.

  3. Yes, I do like your zia. It flows and I love the blue in it.
    Glad for you you were dimissed of that jury duty. We don’t have that here in the Netherlands (no jury, just a judge). We also don’t have death penalty and I’m glad about that.

    • Glad you liked my ZIA, Annemarie. Never realized that in the Netherlands there aren’t jury trials. I find that very interesting. I think being tried by a jury is a good idea — I just couldn’t emotionally handle being on a death penalty trial. I’ve served on a jury that was a medical malpractice case and that was not a problem for me. I just think I’m not cut out for a murder trial.

Comments are closed.