Spellbound

“I remember being spellbound when I saw my first seahorse as a child. It seemed as exotic and remote as the seahorses of myth and legend and equally enthralling. Ever since, these extraordinary fish, and their relatives, have fascinated me. Seahorses have captured the imagination of humans for thousands of years and have a powerful presence in myth and legend.”

Seahorses in Myth, Legend & Art – Written by Dr. Nigella Hillgarth,

Birch Aquarium at Scripps executive director.

800px-Roman_Baths,_Bath_-_Sea_Horse_Mosaic

Seahorse mosaic in the famous Roman baths.

Zentangle 291 - Seahorses

Thanks to Ben Kwok at Ornation Creation on Facebook, who provided the template for the two seahorses, I had the pleasure to create my own fantasy of these creatures.

I used MIcron .01 and .005 pens to fill the template and add the additional tangles.  It is colored with fine line pens, Prismacolor pencils and shaded with graphite.

Hope you enjoy looking at them as much as I enjoyed creating them

Thanks for viewing.  A comment is always appreciated.

 

13 thoughts on “Spellbound

  1. I love your seahorses! I have always been fascinated by the way they move. How did you get the template? I went to Ben’s Facebook page, but was unable to see how to buy or get the template.

    • Hi Jill. Thanks for your kind comment. So glad you liked the seahorses. To get the template, you need to join the group “Ornation Creation” on Facebook. Once accepted, go to “Files” and you will see the various templates drawn by Ben.

  2. Your seahorses are lovely ! I love the colors of blue and green. The tangles give a look of being in the sea.

    • Hi Chrissie, Sorry, I do not know where the photo was taken. I picked up the photo from the article: Seahorses in Myth, Legend & Art – Written by Dr. Nigella Hillgarth, Birch Aquarium at Scripps executive director. I found the article from a goggle search.

      • We saw some amazing mosaics at a place called Nora in Sardinia but there was no seahorses there, maybe one day on our travels we will come across it.

      • Well it looks like it is closer to me than I thought it would be. Bath is only just over 50 miles from us. We will have to have a weekend away and do some exploring of the Baths and museum.

Comments are closed.